KUNSTASYL at 48Hours NEUKÖLLN

A bus drove through Neukoelln. The window seats were taken by Latif and Khaled, Mawlud, Zlatan Ramizah and Vanesa, Endrit, Mohamed Firas, Melisa and Zineta, Housam and Al Khaled, Mazin and Hijba, Mohammed and Zain, Amir and Dakel, Hameed and Sam, Kumrije, Valentina, Valandrina and Foad, Bashkim, Gazi, Gordon and Alexander. Eight times around the world in 48 minutes - from Flughafenstrasse via Podujeva and Tuzla to Damascus, via Ba'lbak and Shingal to Gujrat. Always late. 48 seats taken by guests and hosts, passengers and travellers. Only the 49th seat - mid-position of the last row - would be empty most of the time; dedicated to the nameless refugee.

Map KUNSTASYLtours
Map KUNSTASYLtours

"Our tour is too simple, we have no rules, we just share a small great idea. there is no refugee here and nobody is involved with the project. we are human beings which had to leave home for different reasons. maybe some people say that we can't read and write, that’s why I want to answer them, at least we have emotions and we can feel the big humanity in our hearts.

That is how Dakel would welcome everyone each time the bus set off on a journey of chances and encounters.

It was at the last stop in Damascus, in front of Museum Neukoelln, when 9-year-old Mohammed completed what his father Mazin had said: "It is not about a place or a landscape - it is about people."

KUNSTASYLtours' idea was to create a space within the bus for people looking for shelter in Germany and those who live here. That space was pretty much taken for the last tour when - again - so many people would take part in the journey.

One of Hijba's guests confessed that in the past she had been too scared to talk to a "refugee." She lost her fear in the bus. After all, there were no refugees on board but Latif and Khaled, Mawlud, Zlatan, Ramizah and Vanesa, Endrit, Mohamed Firas, Melisa and Zineta, Housam and Al Khaled, Mazin and Hijba, Mohammed and Zain, Amir and Dakel, Hameed and Sam, Kumrije, Valentina, Valandrina and Foad, and Bashkim, Gazi and Alexander. They would talk about aviation and soccer, cooking and photography, asylum policies, women's rights, and escaping through the deserts of Sudan.

 

 

In 1932 Erich Kaestner opted for the railway as a vehicle in his parable, rolling into a "presence to-be." This is the first verse:

We're all in the same train
travelling across time.
We look outside. We saw enough.
We all ride on the same train.
And no one knows how far.

 

 

Long distance journey Neukölln...Residents of KUNSTASYL/ HEIM for asylumseekers and displaced persons in Staakener Straße Berlin Spandau as travel companions in conversation with their guests and seat neighbours.
Thanks to all our translaters for their great work on translating between the travellers!

 

 

long distance journey Neukölln - 27th & 28th of june - eight times around the world

interview with Dakel Sado in the frame of the festival "48 Houres Neukölln"

[Translate to English:] Im Gespräch mit Adrian Garcia-Landa / Radio KiezFM

interview with barbara caveng

Opens internal link in current windowDakel Sado in the central exhibition  "Signale" in Neukölln Arcaden, sleeping on his bed in the installation of his reconstructed room 102 at the HEIM for asylumseekers and displaced persons at Staakener Straße Straße, Berlin-Spandau.

 

KUNSTASYL tours is made possible by the generous support of BVB.net

KUNSTASYL bei 48Stunden NEUKÖLLN


Ein Bus fuhr durch Neukölln. Die Fensterplätze waren besetzt von Latif und Khaled, von Mawlud, Zlatan Ramizah und Vanesa, von Endrit, Mohamed Firas, Melisa und Zineta, von Housam  und Al Khaled, von Mazin und Hijba, Mohammed und Zain, von Amir und Dakel, von Hameed und Sam, Kumrije, Valentina, Valandrina und Foad, von Bashkim, Gazi, Gordon und Alexander. Acht mal in achtundvierzig Minuten um die Welt - von der Flughafenhafenstrasse über Podujeva und Tuzla, bis nach Damaskus, weiter nach Ba'labak und Shingal bis nach Gujrat. Ankunft immer mit Verspätung. 48 Plätze besetzt von Gästen und Gastgebern, Reisenden und Zugestiegenen. Nur der 49. Sitz, in der Mitte der letzten Reihe, blieb meist leer, dem "unbekannten Flüchtling" gewidmet.

"Our tour is too simple, we have no rules, we just share a small great idea. there is no refugee here and nobody is involved with the project. we are human beings which had to leave home for different reasons. maybe some people say that we can't read and write, that’s why I want to answer them, at least we have emotions and we can feel the big humanity in our hearts."

Zu diesen begrüssenden Worten von Dakel rollte der Bus los zu einer Reise der Optionen und der Begegnungen.

Es war beim letzten Stop in Damaskus, auf dem Hof vor dem Museum Neukölln, als der 9-jährige Mohammed die Worte seines Vaters Mazin ergänzte und sagte: "Es geht nicht um einen Ort oder eine Landschaft, es geht um die Menschen".

KUNSTASYLtours zu 48 Stunden Neukölln folgte der Idee, in einem Bus gemeinsamen Raum zu kreieren und diesen zu teilen zwischen Menschen, die noch Zuflucht in Deutschland suchen und solchen, die hier schon leben. Bei der letzten Tour war dieser Raum kaum mehr vorhanden. Soviele Menschen reisten noch einmal mit.
Einer von Hijbas Gästen vertraute ihr an, dass sie bisher immer Angst gehabt hätte mit einem "Flüchtling" zu reden. Diese Angst konnte sie im Bus verlieren. Es gab da ja keine Flüchtlingen, es waren Latif und Khaled, Mawlud, Zlatan, Ramizah und Vanesa, Endrit, Mohamed Firas, Melisa und Zineta, Housam und Al Khaled, Mazin und Hijba, Mohammed und Zain, Amir und Dakel, Hameed und Sam, Kumrije, Valentina, Valdrina und Fuad, Bashkim, Gazi und Alexander. Sie sprachen übers Fliegen und Fussball, über Kochen und Fotografie, Asylpolitik, die Rolle der Frau und eine Flucht durch die Wüste des Sudan.

 

 

Erich Kästner hatte sich 1932 zugunsten der Eisenbahn entschieden als Gefährt für sein Gleichnis, welches in eine "Gegenwart in spe" rollt, und dessen erste Strophe lautet:

Wir sitzen alle im gleichen Zug
und reisen quer durch die Zeit.
Wir sehen hinaus. Wir sahen genug.
Wir fahren alle im gleichen Zug
und keiner weiß, wie weit.

Fernreise Neukölln...BewohnerInnen und Bewohner des KUNSTASYLS/ Heimes für Geflüchtete und Asylsuchende in der Staakener Straße Berlin Spandau als Reisebegleiter im Gespräch mit Ihren Gästen und Sitznachbarn.
Wir danken allen ÜbersetzerInnen, die die Kommunikation zwischen den Reisenden sprachlich vermittelt haben.

Fernreise Neukölln - 27. & 28.6. - Acht mal um die Welt

Michael Wolf, Autor der Zeitung DIE WELT, war Reisegast von Housam und schreibt dazu folgendes:

 

 

Dakel Sado im Gespräch mit Adrian Garcia-Landa / Radio KiezFM

Im Gespräch mit Adrian Garcia-Landa / Radio KiezFM

 

barbara caveng im Gespräch mit Adrian Garcia-Landa / Radio KiezFM



Opens internal link in new windowDakel Sado in der zentralen Ausstellung "Signale" in den Neukölln Arcaden , schlafend auf seinem Bett im nachgebauten Zimmer 102 des Wohnheimes für Geflüchtete und Asylsuchende in der Staakener Straße, Berlin-Spandau.


KUNSTASYL tours wurde ermöglicht durch die grosszügige Unterstützung von Opens external link in new windowBVB.net